Gravitation (グラビテーション) is a yaoi manga series written and illustrated by Maki Murakami. The story follows the attempts of Shuichi Shindo and his band, Bad Luck, to become Japan’s next musical sensation, and his struggles to capture Eiri Yuki’s heart.  A sequel, Gravitation EX. (グラビテーションEX.), was published in the web magazine Genzo from 2004 to 2009 and returned in 2011 to Web Spica. Gravitation has also been adapted into a two episode OVA series in 1999 directed by Shinichi Watanabe and a thirteen-episode TV anime series directed by Bob Shirohata. The TV series aired in Japan from October 4, 2000 to January 10, 2001, on WOWOW Wednesdays at 18:30 and was reaired on Tokyo MX in 2007.

The story follows Shuichi Shindou, a 19 year old vocalist trying to make it big in the music industry and Eiri Yuki, a young, cool and cold romance novelist and pretty much revolves around the couple’s careers, love life and past. Nothing complicated or confusing neither is it plot less or pointless. The series is short, only 13 episodes long but every episode is filled with quality; it’s well paced, never did it ever feel even slightly slow or boring. It’s simply entertaining which is what an anime should be! Gravitation is one the best shounen ai out there to date.

The only reason why I say “one of” is simply because I haven’t watched all the shounen ai out there, but even so it’s still up there because it also does well as an anime. It’s well funny, throughout the series I had had many good laughs. There are extremely lame and stupid moments (e.g. Shuichi dressing in dog costume) that had made me cringe but I guess that’s just part of the course. There are also shocking pause-the-screen-to-take-in-what-just-happened moments which either puts a huge grin on my face or make me look completely dumbfounded.

155 total views, 5 views today

  • Bakumatsu Rock Vol. 2 Bonus CD

    Bakumatsu Rock BONUS TRACK VOL.2 幕末Rock BONUS TRACK VOL.2 Catalog Number GNBA-806202 Release Date Sep 26, 2014 Tracklist: 01 絶頂DAYBREAK(高杉晋作Ver.) […]

    96 total views, 7 views today

  • MICHI – Realistic

    TV Anime “Kuromukuro” Ending Theme リアリ・スティック / MICHI Catalog Number PCCG-70317 Release Date May 18, 2016 Tracklist: 01 リアリ・スティック 4:49 […]

    91 total views, 8 views today

  • Salley – Akai Kutsu

    TV Anime Toriko 8th Ending theme Release Date May 29, 2013 Catalog No. VIZL-539 CD: 1. 赤い靴 2. call 3. […]

    106 total views, 6 views today

  • Nobunaga the Fool

    Nobunaga the Fool (ノブナガ・ザ・フール) is a Japanese stage play and anime series, part of a wider franchise titled The Fool […]

    104 total views, 6 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *