The Place Promised in Our Early Days

The Place Promised in Our Early Days (雲のむこう、約束の場所, Kumo no Mukou, Yakusoku no Basho, lit. “Beyond the Clouds, the Promised Place”) is a 90-minute Japanese anime film created and directed by Makoto Shinkai, following his previous work Voices of a Distant Star. As in the previous film, the soundtrack was composed by Tenmon. Unlike the previous film which was largely created by Makoto on his own, Kumo no Mukou was a full-scale production as reflected by the better animation quality and the longer overall length. It has been broadcast across Japan by the anime satellite television network Animax.

In an alternate timeline, Japan was divided after losing World War II: Hokkaido was annexed by “Union” while Honshu and other southern islands were under US sovereignty. A gigantic yet mysterious tower was constructed at Hokkaido and could be seen clearly from Aomori (the northernmost prefecture of Honshu) across Tsugaru Strait. In the summer of 1996, three 9th-graders had made a promise that one day they’ll build an aircraft and unravel the tower’s mystery, but their project was abandoned after the girl, Sayuri Sawatari, began experiencing sleeping sickness and transferred to Tokyo for better treatment. Three years later, Hiroki Fujisawa accidentally found out that Sayuri had been in a coma since then, and he asked Takuya Shirakawa to help him finding a way to revive her. What they don’t know yet is that Sayuri’s unconsciousness is somehow linked with secrets of the tower and the world.

Ending Theme: “Kimi no Koe” by Ai Kawashima (in OST)
Kumo no Mukou, Yakusoku no Basho Original Soundtrack (w/scanS)

    • Giniro no Kami no Agito

      Origin: Spirits of the Past, known in Japan as Silver-Haired Agito (銀色の髪のアギト), is a 2006 Japanese animated science fiction film […]

    • Yowamushi Pedal Vol. 7 Bonus CD

      弱虫ペダル 高回転〈ハイケイデンス〉 ドラマCD Vol.3 Released: June 18, 2014 Catalog No. TDV23487D ≪Duration 12:14 ≫ オリジナルシナリオによるドラマCD第3弾! 総北3年生トリオが海でトレーニング!?[sociallocker] 【出演】 金城真護:安元洋貴、 巻島裕介:森久保祥太郎、 田所迅:伊藤健太郎 […]

    • Shimoseka Orginal Soundtrack Vol. 1

      Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai Vol.1 Bonus CD 下ネタという概念が存在しない退屈な世界 第1巻 特典CD SHIMONETA: A Boring World […]

    • Takashi Kawamura – C’mon every burning

      テニスの王子様 キャラクターCD 河村隆 (CV: 川本成) 2007/11/14発売 品番:NECM-10085 Tracklist 01 – C’mon every burning 02 – 心の花 03 – C’mon every […]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *