Neko no Ongaeshi

The Cat Returns (猫の恩返し , lit. The Cat’s Repayment) is a 2002 Japanese animated fantasy film directed by Hiroyuki Morita of Studio Ghibli, produced by Toshio Suzuki and Nozomu Takahashi, written by Reiko Yoshida, based on The Cat Returns by Aoi Hiiragi with music by Yuji Nomi, and stars Chizuru Ikewaki, Yoshihiko Hakamada, Tetsu Watanabe, Yosuke Saito, Aki Maeda and Tetsurō Tamba. It received an Excellence Prize at the 2002 Japan Media Arts Festival.

The Cat Returns is a side story to the Studio Ghibli film, “Whisper of the Heart’. In essence, it is a separate story within a story, which makes the concept quite clever. It brings back old characters from the original showing, into a plot that has a similar atmosphere to The Nutcracker or Alice in Wonderland. It is a fantasy, in a which a shy girl is carried off into another land, and in the process learns more about herself. The moral behind the story is a touching one, and it is delivered well. Perhaps the only drawback that someone might find, is that it all ends too happily. In my opinion, this is the strongest point of the film. There will always be a moment in which something ironic, or humorous occurs. They try their best to make the audience laugh. If it isn’t the witty or silly remarks made by the characters, then it is the very actions within the plot itself. I enjoyed the film very much, and haven’t felt so light-hearted in a while. The Cat Returns, is a comical and sweet tale. It isn’t something meant to be taken seriously. It is an odd, wacky fantasy with jokes and general mischief at every corner. I feel that it is a must see for any Studio Ghibli fan.

[Jun 26, 2002] Kaze ni Naru / Ayano Tsuji
[Jul 17, 2002] Neko no Ongaeshi Soundtrack

83 total views, 9 views today

  • Kurobas (3rd Season) Vol. 5 Bonus CD

    TVアニメ『黒子のバスケ』3rd 第5巻 SPECIAL CD feat.虹村修造 Release Date: Aug 26, 2015 ●SPECIAL CD feat.虹村修造 (Nijimura Shuuzou, CV: Ryōtarō Okiayu) ・オーディオドラマ 虹村編 […]

    89 total views, 13 views today

  • yu-yu – Hoshikuzu no Sunadokei

    Hoshikuzu no Sunadokei / Takayuki Hattori Presents GUNDAM THE ORIGIN featuring yu-yu 星屑の砂時計 / 服部隆之 Presents GUNDAM THE ORIGIN featuring […]

    99 total views, 17 views today

  • fourfolium – SAKURA SKIP

    TV Anime “NEW GAME!” Opening Theme SAKURAスキップ / fourfolium Catalog Number ZMCZ-10785 Release Date Jul 27, 2016 CD Tracklist 01 […]

    70 total views, 12 views today

  • Hiroshi Tada – Wild Card

    Wild Card is the first opening theme of Battle Spirits Sword Eyes. The song was sung by Hiroshi Tada of […]

    85 total views, 13 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *