Nerawareta Gakuen


Nerawareta Gakuen (ねらわれた学園), known as Psychic School Wars in the western world, is a 1973 science fiction novel by Taku Mayumura. It has been adapted into four television dramas in 1977, 1982, 1987 and 1997. Two live-action films were produced in 1981 and 1997. A 2012 anime film directed by Ryosuke Nakamura was produced by Sunrise and received comparisons to the works of Makoto Shinkai.

It is a hard and often under-appreciated craft to bend cliches to your will and use them to create a beautiful and astonishing piece of art. The authors of Nerawareta Gakuen have succeeded. The first thing that draws attention are the visuals. This is one of the most beautiful anime movies that I’ve ever seen. The quality of art and animation is absolutely top-notch. It is very bright and colorful, but we’re being bombarded with the faerie-like palette with absolute mastery. I would say it is worth watching for the visuals alone. The music and sound production follow in line, complimenting the breathtaking graphics perfectly. I can certainly see that this is not a movie that will appeal to everyone, and people looking for action, multiple-layered intrigue and a massive conspiracy would be disappointed. But if you’re looking for more of a slice-of-life drama and allow yourself to be enchanted, you won’t be disappointed.

[Nov 21, 2012] ED: “Sayonara no Hashi” by Mayu Watanabe
[Nov 21, 2012] Nerawareta Gakuen Original Soundtrack
[Dec 19, 2012] OP “Giniro Hikousen (銀色飛行船)” by supercell


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here