Oban Star-Racers

Ōban Star-Racers (オーバン・スターレーサーズ) is a French/Japanese anime series created by Savin Yeatman-Eiffel of Sav! The World Productions. Originally produced as a short movie titled Molly Star Racer, a television series was developed in cooperation with Jetix Europe, with animation production by HAL Film Maker and Pumpkin 3D. It aired in more than 100 countries including Japan.

In the year 2082, Earth has been invited to compete in the Great Race of Ōban, an intergalactic race whose winner can be given “The Ultimate Prize”, supposedly granting any wish in the world—even bringing back a loved one. The invitation comes from the Avatar, a mysterious entity who ends hostilities between Earth and the sinister race of the Crogs, in return for Earth’s entry into the race.

Eva Wei, an Earth student, escapes boarding school to find her father, Don Wei, president of Wei Racing and the best race manager in the world. Having left his daughter in the care of the boarding school for many years without ever visiting, Don Wei does not seem to recognize Eva as his daughter. Unable to tell her father who she really is, she lands a job as a mechanic in his team under the name “Molly”, a name chosen from a convenient poster on a crate in the hangar.

When Wei Racing is ordered by the government to represent Earth at Ōban, Molly stows away as they are taken to a far-off planet. During the first race, the Whizzing Arrow, the Earth Star-Racer ship, crashes due to sabotage. Its star pilot, Rick Thunderbolt, becomes unable to race. After finding that the gunner, Jordan Wilde, makes a miserable pilot, Molly steals the ship and enters the next race. Don Wei grudgingly decides that the only one who can replace Rick is Molly. Haunted by the death of her mother—a famous star-racer—and the harsh “reunion” with her father, Molly is determined to win so she can be with her parents once again.

Opening Theme: “A Chance to Shine” by Akino
Ending Theme: “Waratteta” by Sukoshi
[Feb 17, 2007] TV Animation Oban Star-Racers Original Soundtrack

  • Criticrista – Hanate! Dododon!

    TV Anime “SHOW BY ROCK!!#” Insert Song 放て! どどどーん! / クリティクリスタ Catalog Number PCCG-70331 Release Date Oct 19, 2016 Tracklist […]

  • Rie fu – For You

    TV anime “Hourou Musuko” ED theme Catalog Number SRCL-7552 Release Date Feb 16, 2011 Tracklist 01 For You 4:04 02 […]

  • Buon! Buon! Ride On!

    TV Anime “BAKUON!!” Ending Theme Buon! Buon! Ride On! / Hane Sakura (CV. Reina Ueda), Rin Suzunoki (CV. Nao Toyama), […]

  • BREATHE – Tomorrows

    Kimi to Kare to Boku to Kanojo is the fifteenth ending theme of the Fairy Tail anime; it is performed […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *