Over Drive

Over Drive (オーバードライヴ) is a manga series by Yasuda Tsuyoshi that has appeared in the Japanese Weekly Shōnen Magazine from 2005 until 2008. An anime adaptation began airing on 3 April 2007 and is produced by studio XEBEC. The story revolves around the first year high school student Mikoto Shinozaki and his goal to become the greatest cyclist in the world and winning the Tour de France. The protagonist of the story is your typical weak willed, unless, low self esteem guy in school. But what is different about his character to other similarly carved sports lead characters is that he has a sense of humor. Unlike other characters, he does not dwell on his uselessness much, which is definitely something i appreciate a lot, since these dwellings can drag on long and slow.

The race (there is only one) in the anime is surprisingly exciting and interesting. I just could not stop watching episodes after episodes of the race. I mean, a race of bicycles must be boring, right? NOT. Though it lacks special effects that other sports anime have, the scenes are realistic and appealing. I would recommend all to watch this anime. It’s comical at the right times, and touching at others. But I must say that the story borders on corny at times, but fret not, it doesn’t happen often. And I am dissatisfied that the series is so short, I wished it continued on longer and showed us their journey through the Tour de France. Maybe in their next season?

Opening Theme
“WINDER ~Boku wa Koko ni Iru~” by Shonen Kamikaze
Ending Theme
#1: “Saihate no Parade” by Merry
#2: “Koi Suzumi” by DEL
OVER  Drive Character Song Album:
1. Feel The Sky
2. Wind Poems
3. Little wings fly high
Over Drive Original Soundtrack: OST 1 / OST 2

104 total views, 4 views today

  • Sayonara Ponytail – Sora mo Toberu Hazu

    Sora mo Toberu Hazu/Bianca/Koisuru Sports / Sayonara Ponytail 空も飛べるはず/ビアンカ/恋するスポーツ / さよならポニーテール Catalog Number ESCL-3904~5 Release Date May 23, 2012[sociallocker] Disc […]

    96 total views, 2 views today

  • Code:Breaker (13 CD)

    Code:Breaker (コード: ブレイカー) is a manga written and illustrated by Akimine Kamijyo running in Weekly Shōnen Magazine through Kodansha. Riding […]

    183 total views, 2 views today


    聖闘士聖矢 SONG BEST Catalog Number COCX-37650 Release Date Oct 31, 2012 Tracklist 01 Pegasus Fantasy -PEGASUS FANTASY- 3:41 02 Eien […]

    13 total views, 1 views today

  • hitorie – one-Me two-Hearts

    TV Anime “Divine Gate” Opening Theme: ワンミーツハー / ヒトリエ Catalog Number AICL-3041 Release Date Jan 27, 2016 Tracklist (special Edition): […]

    91 total views, 1 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *