Strawberry Marshmallow

Strawberry Marshmallow (苺ましまろ Ichigo Mashimaro) is a Japanese manga series by Barasui about the adventures of four elementary school girls and their older sister-figure. In 2005, the series was adapted into an anime series.
“Cute girls doing cute things in cute ways.”
Everyday things make up the fabric of life—whether it’s making friends, going to school, trying to make money, or celebrating a holiday. Ichigo Mashimaro is a heartwarming series that follows the daily lives of Itou Chika, her sister Nobue, and her friends Miu, Matsuri, and Ana.

The premise is quite simple, we follow 5 girls – Nobue the oldest, her sister Chii, their friends, Ana, Miu and Matsuri – but not continuously, mind you, but rather, we drop in and out of their everyday lives. And what cute lives they lead! Don’t expect complex plot here, each episode is filled with the every day things we all have done, the girls go to school, enjoy cake, shovel snow, get lost and play sports. But it never gets boring, because mischief is just right around the corner and it will have you giggling to yourself over the silliness. The simplicity of the plot is the anime’s strong point but also it can be its undoing. If you appreciate the innocent, stress-free and, dare I say again, CUTE things in life, you most likely will love this series, I certainly did. Otherwise, you may find the cuteness tooth-rottingly sweet.

Opening Theme
1. “Ichigo Complete” by Saeko Chiba, Fumiko Orikasa, Ayako Kawasumi and Mamiko Noto
2. “Akkan Berry Berry” by Chiba Saeko, Orikasa Fumiko, Kawasumi Ayako, Noto Mamiko & Nabatame Hitomi
3. “Ichigo Splash” by Saeko Chiba, Mamiko Noto, Ayako Kawasumi, Fumiko Orikasa & Hitomi Nabatame
Ending Theme
1. “Classmate” by Orikasa Fumiko
2. “Yuu Machi no Kaze” by Orikasa Fumiko
3. “Zutto, Zutto” by Orikasa Fumiko [OVA Size]
Ichigo Mashimaro Original Soundtrack


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.